h1

A Long Time Ago…

February 3, 2007

…having posted my last entry I sat down for a short session of World of Warcraft and when I looked up again it was January 24th 2007. Of course it was all for research purposes only and now I’m in a position where I have to try and edit my paper down from 14,000 to 10,000 words while adding a sizeable chunk in to interest an audience of market researchers. I’m almost regretting it now, WoW is not easy to distil into soundbites and clumsy brand analogies and I haven’t even experienced any high level content yet.

Anyway, enough moaning. I don’t think WoW would be top of anyone’s list of ‘dark’ MMORPGs, its ‘cartoony’ graphics still get stick despite its overwhelming success and before I started playing I was a little skeptical about them myself. Once you get in the game it all makes sense though. Maybe there is some truth to Ramachandran’s ‘Peak Shift’ theory and the increasing realism desired by so many games designers and players is actually counter to our instincts, or perhpas Blizzard have just done a really good job of designing graphics that won’t date as quick. Anyway, I’ve long been a fan of fantasy design that isn’t anchored in Vallejo-esque realism (see John Blanche and Ian Miller).

I managed to ink a bit of my ‘Wolves’ picture in the spare minutes I got between sleeping, eating, working, being nice to my girlfriend and WoWing. But the moments over for this one I’m afraid… perhaps one day I’ll come back to this, but for now I have another more pressing project.

Wolf Culture

One comment

  1. I love the Wolf!
    Now, I have to check your whole blog, haven’t I?
    Cheers,
    Robert-Gilles



Leave a Reply

